Adding a Little Color

Life can be pretty stressful sometimes… or all the time, and it can be tough to find fun and effective coping mechanisms. Something that I’ve been seeing a lot of lately are books and even some apps that are marketed as anti-stress coloring for adults. Some of these are pretty awesome, but some can get a little boring or a little too intricate to really relieve stress.
I recently came into contact with my high school art teacher, so I asked her for her opinion on the subject. She is a firm believer in the healing powers of art and creativity. As a specific example, she told me that historians have found evidence of drawings based on radial symmetry in nearly every culture! She encouraged me to draw in the mandala style to help combat anxiety. Attached is my first attempt, and I’m sure there will be many more to come!IMG_8137

Leave a Reply

