Bingeing for Two!

I’m baa-aack! Yes, I know I’ve been AWOL for a few weeks, but I’m sure you can surmise as to why. I had my baby! Erica here, and I have officially been a mommy for three weeks and two days. There have been a lot of ups and downs and twists and turns. I’ll spare you the gory details of my labor and delivery, instead fast-forwarding to the day we brought her home. Here is a list of the top five ways I’ve been bingeing since my daughter, sweet, adorable little Veda Lynne, was born:

  1. Breastfeeding: Sometimes Veda wants to eat every three to four hours, giving mommy a nice chunk of time to do things like write this blog or even eat some food, and sometimes she vehemently demands the breast every half hour. Yes, when I signed up for this gig, I knew babies are a very hungry lot. But if a newborn’s belly is the size of a walnut, where does all the milk go?
  2. Diaper Changing: I’ll tell you where all that milk goes: right into the ungodly number of diapers I change for Veda every day. From green and yellow poops to fountains of urine at the most inopportune times, every breastfeeding session leads to yet another diaper change—or two.
  3. Being awake: And with all of these feedings and diaper changes, guess what very quickly goes by the wayside: sleep. Oh, just typing the word reminds me of all the glorious eight-hour nighttime sessions and daytime naps I indulged in B.B. (before baby). Unfortunately, Veda didn’t come with a snooze button.
  4. Worrying; One side effect of all the sleep deprivation (and hormone fluctuations) is an intense feeling of paranoia. Apparently, it is very common for new mothers to perceive everything as a potential problem or threat to the baby. Why is she sleeping more than she did yesterday? Is she even breathing? Why hasn’t she pooped all day? Why is she crying? Does she have a fever?
  5. Cuddling: When I’m worried about Veda and questioning her every action (or lack thereof, there is only one way to quell my nerves. Mommy needs to hug, kiss, hold, rock, and cuddle her precious bundle. This is, obviously, the best part of caring for a newborn, but whether I’m feeding her, changing her diaper, craving sleep, worrying, or cuddling with her, I wouldn’t change a thing.

That’s all for now! Tune in next Thursday!

Leave a Reply

