Popovers: Foolproof Baking

Happy Humpday readers! As you may recall from my cheesecake blog last month, I think I am a better baker than I am. Having come to that realization I have stepped my game down a bit and gone back to the basics. Today I will give you the simplest, and possibly tastiest, recipe you can make at home. It’s foolproof. I love this recipe because my grandma Jackie made these for my dad, who then made them for my sister and I, and now I make them for my boyfriend. I think the beauty in baking isn’t becoming a master at it, but having fun creating something you can share with your family. I know it sounds cheesy(Mmm… cheese), but food has a profound power to bring people together. Since this recipe has survived 3 generations I think it’s totally shareworthy.

What you will need:

1 Cup Flour

1 Cup Milk

2 Eggs

½ TSP Salt

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Mix the above contents in a bowl (this does not require a hand mixer, which is great since I broke mine!). Grease a cupcake pan and fill each cup 3/4 full with batter. Bake for 25-30 minutes depending on how temperamental your oven is and ta da! Tasty popovers. The great thing about these bad boys is you can put anything on them: jelly, butter, peanut butter. Go crazy!

Happy Eating!

-Melissa

Leave a Reply

