Adopt, Don’t Shop

This morning, as I was turning off of my street, I saw a little dog walking around. She was dangerously close to crossing a busy street, so my friend and I stopped and picked her up. She was really sweet and calm, so we put her in the car and took her to the local vet to be checked for a microchip. The vet didn’t find one, and said that she looked as if she had been abandoned a while ago. I called the local shelters and community pet homes only to find that they were all at or near full capacity. It was incredible to then see a bunch of happy pet parents out at the pet store grooming and caring for their pure bred puppies that they paid hundreds for. There’s a definite problem in the community with pet owners choosing trends over compassion for animals. If you or anyone you know is looking for a furry friend please look towards your local animal shelters. I guarantee you’ll be able to find a sweetie that fits all of your needs. ADOPT DON’T SHOP.

If anyone is interested in homing the dog I found today (pictured above) she’s super sweet, gets along with other cats and dogs, and she’s looking for a loving family.

–L

Leave a Reply

