Track by Track: Safe in Sound – Lower Than Atlantis

“I hate everyone that I meet”

The album hooked me in with the first line. I love this record for sure. Definetly reccomend that you drop everything and give it a listen. Like right now. 

Overall: 9/10 (Just because I’m hesitant to give out a 10 this early in the year)

Favorite Track: Money

Least Favorite Track: Long Time Coming

Had Enough
Definetly up there as a great one (hell this whole album’s great). The auxillary percussion parts add a nice touch and I love the chorus. 

Dumb

I love the vocals on this track. They’re extra smooth and it makes for a real chil track. It’s got a nice drum groove going for it as well. The prechorus is my go to skip when I give this a listen. 

Long Time Coming

Again solid drumming and vocals. It’s not super attention grabbing for me at the moment, but it’s far from boring at the same time. 

Boomerang

I feel like the best way to describe this track is “cool”, like leather jacket, sunglasses, comfortable walk cool. It’s not super high energy but it’s a great listen. 

Work for It

The guitars are heavy compared to the rest of the album and I love it. This track, I love it. The album, I love it. 

Could Be Worse

Call me blasphemous, but I got some serious CHON vibes from the intro. Melodically, this song’s superior to the rest of the album (maybe a hard tie with “Money”). Lyricall, it throws me back to the positive metalcore middle school days, but not in a cringy cash grab way. It feeel genuine and it definetly makes me smile. 

I Would

More throwbacks, this reminds me heavily of “I’d Do Anything” by Simple Plan. Like I’d even argue that this is a rip off. The deeper vocals give it a much more mature vibe though and, as always, the lead guitar is refreshing. 

Money

My face fell and I lost my train of though mid conversation when the verse groove dropped. Giving it a second listen this was kind of an overreaction, but this track is no less fantastic than I thought it was first listen. I genuinely feel like I’m floating on a cloud during this song. Between the guitars and the background vocals, it’s straight up ethereal. 

I Don’t Wanna Be Here Anymore

Beautifully done. You gotta listen to it yourself. 

A Night to Forget

Overall a fun song. It works perfectly as a closure and builds a real content pop punk atmosphere to end on. 

Give this a listen for sure. I loved it start to finish. 

Until next week

-banshee

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew Marco says:

    awesome share! I haven’t heard of this group before, but I feel that I need to look into it now 🙂

    Overall, in general, what songs are your favorites of theirs if I haven’t heard of them before?

    Like

  2. This is actually the first record of theirs that I’ve heard. Off of it “Money,” “I Would” and “Dumb” are my favorites though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

