Anime-niac

I woke up Monday morning with a gnarly head cold. Having lost the will to get out of bed and seize the day I decided to vegetate and watch something. My boyfriend had recommended this show called “Samurai Champloo” to me a while back. As I was browsing Youtube, episode one popped up under recommendations and I thought what the hell, I’ve got nothing better to do. Having never watched anime before I was not sure if I would enjoy it, but I’m always looking for new and interesting genres. The series did not disappoint!

The three main characters, Mugen, Jin, and Fuu are societal misfits that find themselves journeying across Japan together in the Edo Period (like 400 years ago). Jin is a ronin, Mugen is a rogue fighter, and Fuu is a teenager in search of a man called “the samurai who smells of sunflowers”. Fuu hires the two men to protect her on her journey, which was a good call because (spoiler) she gets kidnapped a ridiculous number of times.

Aside from great writing and animation, the soundtrack to the series is awesome. Hip hop influenced many of the tracks, and classical and modern elements blend together nicely to form a rhythm for the story.

What I love about this series is that every episode is available for free on Youtube with English dubbing, or subtitles if you prefer. As much as I love reading, I find subtitles distracting when I’m watching something new.

I highly recommend this show if you are into adult humor cartoons, there were many elements with mature subject matter. There is only one season (Firefly all over again) but it is worth a watch if you’re an anime fan or you want to dabble in a new genre.

Thanks everyone for reading and have a Happy Humpday! -Melissa

Leave a Reply

