Track by Track: okay. – As It Is 

I first heard about As It Is when Patty’s cover of “Wrecking Ball” went viral a couple of years back. I was never a huge fan, but I liked the vibe I got from the album cover so I decided to give it a listen. 

Overall: 8 pizza slices out of 10

Favorite Track: Pretty Little Distance

Least Favorite: Curtains Close

Pretty Little Distance

Maybe it’s only my favorite because I heard it first, but I love it. It has a a nice energy and this track really captures the sarcasm on the cover that made me give it a listen. It’s been stuck in my head all day and I have no complaints. 

Okay

I can understand why it was picked as the title track, but I don’t think it fits. It’s a decent enough song but it doesn’t keep me as invested as some of the other tracks on the album do. 

Hey Rachel

This song moves and keeps my attention. Even with the subject matter being a little more on the regretful side, it manages to make me want to move. The backup vocals some nice contrast that add to the whole experience as well. 

Patchwork Love

It makes me smile for sure and it’s a nice enough track, but I’m not floored by it. The drum grove and harmonization during the bridge are a saving grace though, that make this track stand out from the others.

Curtain’s Close

I’m a little biased, as it’s hard for slow songs to hold my attention in genral, but this song doesn’t do it for me at all. The background melody in the prechorus is nice, it’s not enough to make the track worth it to me. 

No Way Out

This track was close to being my favorite. It’s very high energy and it turns a sad topic into a somewhat upbeat song. I love bridge/breakdown and I’ve been skipping to that part on recent listens. 

Soap

Another one that’s up there among my favorites. It grooves hard and has a cool vibe that I really enjoy. The aggressiveness in the chorus doesn’t feel out of place at all regardless of the contrast. 

Austen

There’s an edge to the enterance that’s a refreshing change of pace when compared to the rest of the album. It definetly stands out as being a bit different and I really enjoy that about it.

Until I Return

Another track that I thought was a little meh. The lead guitar is refreshing, given the genre. It’s not bad, but not great either.  

The Coast Is Where Home Is

A true pop punk song, reminescent of childhood memories and all. Energetic and aggressive vocals with a catchy chorus, no complaints from me.

Still Remembering

I thought this track was solid. It’s for sure more of what I would look for in a slow song. The instrumental really propels it and the vocals are spot on start to finish. 
This is the first 2017 release I’ve heard so far and I definetly look forward to hearing more.

I really enjoyed this record and I hope that the one’s I listen to in the future can keep me as invested. 

Until next week

– banshee 

Leave a Reply

